A little bit of politics.

Just a quickie cos I have loads to do today but feel since a confusingly large amount of people seem to read these blogs, it’s my duty to direct anyone who hasn’t registered to vote to http://www.aboutmyvote.co.uk

I know a lot of people who don’t consider themselves political and have lost, or never had, any interest in politics or politicians. it’s very easy to write off the whole thing. I largely agree with the sentiments that all politicians are the same and there is little point in participating in a mode of government which seems to work only for the rich and shafts everybody else.

The problem is that it throws the baby out with the bathwater. It is incredibly easy to take democracy for granted and even, in this day and age, eschew it as irrelevant. We have the vote… but what’s the point in using it?

We may not like how our country has been run in our living memory but we are fortunate to not have experienced a dictatorship or genuine political oppression. The power is still in our hands and to decide not to use it is detrimental to everyone and everything.

I firmly believe that there is no reason to not vote on May 6th. Actually, I’d go as far as to say, for once, there is EVERY reason to vote.

I’ll be voting Lib-Dem. I have been a floating voter all of my life, never have committed to one party because I don’t see how anyone could in the years since I have been eligible to vote. Politics HAS changed. The notion of both Labour AND the Tories centralizing still blows my mind. It sends out one clear message to me – they can not be trusted. They are pandering for votes. They are telling us only what they think we want to hear. Political parties should be built upon ideals. The reason our method of governing worked was because for a long time, you had the left wing and the right wing pulling in opposite directions meaning the actual choices were guided by one side and tempered by the other. That’s rather good. When the left wing and the right wing run on essentially identical policies, no over-ridingly convincing idealistic stances and campaign more on deriding each other than laying out a clear, coherent and intelligent pattern for the leadership of the country, then you know you’re in trouble.

In my eyes, Labour has fucked up. I voted for Blair in 96, I was wrong. I was blinded by the new, exciting, young, fresh party. I hadn’t stop to think that by centralising the party, Blair was basically admitting he didn’t really have a vision. I was also bored of the Tory hegemony. Hindsight is 20/20, though, right? Labour is washed up. They’ve had their chance to improve the country but, in my eyes, they’ve made it worse. Conversely, to vote Conservative would be to make the same mistake again. Cameron IS Blair. A young (and far far less experienced) PR-friendly face who has taken the balls out of his party to appear more attractive to the ever-widening middle ground.

Do I think Nick Clegg is a serious alternative? Yes. Why? Because despite – as he proved in the first debate – having a far more realistic, less ‘spun’ take on things, if you’re going to vote for a party who has centralized, why not give it to the party who have occupied the central ground for a very long time. Who know the central ground, care about the central ground, have positioned themselves there because they believe in it, not to cynically usurp power.

I believe the Lib-Dems are the only contenders to not be corrupt liars. Up until last week, nobody who wanted to be a politician for their own agenda would have stood as a Lib-Dem. The career prospects were laughable. Which is why I feel that most lib-Dem candidates are so because they believe in it.

If we vote them in, will they fuck up? Almost definitely! Almost definitely. Leadership is a poisoned chalice. But right now, everything is broken and wrong. Extending Labour’s rampage or giving the Tories the chance to break the few things that still work is a terribly bad idea. We don’t have many other options. So I’m giving the Lib-Dems a chance.

If you don’t vote, Labour or Tory will get in. But if everyone who felt disenfranchised by the political process were to register today and vote LibDem on May 6th and then things actually might improve. That’s my take on it.

Simplistic, short, not spell-checked.

Tough shit. Vote.

Published in: on April 19, 2010 at 2:18 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://videojon.wordpress.com/2010/04/19/a-little-bit-of-politics/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’m registered to vote back in Colchester and will be asking my parents to put in a proxy vote on my behalf. I too agree that a Liberal Democrat government would be a much-needed kick up the arse for the country, and I like the sound of Nick Clegg a lot, but there’s a problem – I really, really, really, really, really don’t like Colchester’s Lib Dem candidate. He’s been the incumbent MP there for ages and has been a bloody nightmare for arts organisations, as well as being notoriously eccentric and acting more like a New Labour junkie than a Lib Dem. So what to do?

  2. I would say this is an election where it’s more important to vote nationally than locally. If the Tories get in, you can forget any notion of arts funding whatsoever and Labour slashed the Film Council’s funding in half recently.


Leave a Reply

